Thunder Bay • Orillia

Native Languages Programs Information

Lakehead University offers courses in Ojibwe (Anishinaabemowin) and Cree (Inin"mowin), two of the most widely spoken Canadian Aboriginal languages. Ojibwe is spoken primarily in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, western Quebec, and several states south of the Great Lakes, in particular Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. Cree is spoken in subarctic Canada from Alberta to Labrador.

Both languages are spoken in a number of significantly different linguistic varieties, often referred to as dialects.

Both languages are members of the Algonquian language family. Other Algonquian languages spoken in Canada include Blackfoot, Maliseet-Passamaquoddy, Mi'gmaq, and Munsee Delaware. Other Algonquian languages spoken in the United States include Menominee, Fox-Sauk-Kickapoo, Cheyenne, and others.

The term Algonquian refers specifically to the language family to which Ojibwe and Cree are assigned. The name of the language family is distinguished from the very similar term Algonquin, which refers to the Algonquin dialect of Ojibwe, spoken primarily in northwestern Quebec and northeastern Ontario.

The following Native Language Program offerings are available:
Each program is marked with a TB, O or W designation to distinguish where each program is available.
(TB = Thunder Bay campus, O = Orillia campus, W = online)

Minor Program in Native Language (TB)(O)
Aboriginal Languages Specialist's Certificate Part I (TB)
Aboriginal Languages Specialist's Certificate Part II (TB)