Thunder Bay • Orillia

Juris Doctor (JD)(TB)

Faculty of Law Introduction
The Faculty of Law offers a three year Juris Doctor (JD) program. The program provides a solid foundation in core legal subjects, which will prepare graduates for the practice of law. The program is designed to produce skilled graduates who are able to work both independently and as productive members of a legal team; demonstrate excellent communication and problem-solving abilities; are socially responsible citizens; and are able to work effectively and ethically within the Canadian legal system. Each cohort of students admitted to Lakehead University's Faculty of Law will be studying within an environment in which issues affecting northern and rural life are considered integral parts of the curriculum. There is particular focus on skills needed for small firm practice, Aboriginal law and natural resource law.

Program Objectives
The Faculty of Law at Lakehead University is committed to providing the highest quality legal education to its students and to preparing graduates for the practice of law in any setting, with an emphasis on practice in smaller centers and rural regions of Northern Ontario and Canada.

Lakehead offers an Integrated Practice Curriculum (IPC), the first in Canada to integrate legal professional training into a law degree.  Students will complete one term non-paid placement in third year.  Such placement, combined with the compulsory courses, qualify students to write the Ontario Bar examinations, without having to article with a law firm.

The Juris Doctor (JD) degree is a three-year second-entry, undergraduate program of study. The first-year program for all students is mandatory. A total of 18 FCE are required for graduation, consisting of 11 FCE of compulsory courses, 4 FCE of electives (2.5 in Second Year and 1.5 in Third Year), and a semester placement (3 FCE). The elective courses are chosen from within the Faculty of Law; however, up to one FCE of the electives courses may be chosen from outside the Faculty of Law, with permission of the Dean of the Faculty of Law.

First Year:
(a) Law 1000, 1020, 1040, 1060
(b) Law 1510, 1530, 1550, 1570
(c) Law 1535 (non-credit required course)

Second Year:
(a) Law 2000, 2020, 2510, 2530, 2550
(b) 2.5 FCE electives

Third Year:
(a) Law 3510, 3530, 3550
(b) Law 3800 (3.0 FCE placement)
(c) 1.5 FCE electives

Up to 1.0 FCE of the electives may be chosen from outside the Faculty of Law, with permission of the Dean of the Faculty of Law.