Thunder Bay • Orillia

Doctor of Philosophy in Engineering

Dean of the Faculty of Engineering 
A. Gillies (Acting)
PhD in Engineering
Graduate Co-ordinator R. Khoury
Core Doctoral Supervisory: D. Alexandrov (Electrical Engineering)
  E. Atoofian (Electrical Engineering),
  R. Benlamri (Software Engineering),
  C. Christoffersen (Electrical Engieering)
  L. Curiel (Adjunct, Electrical Engineering),
  S. Ikki (Electrical Engineering)
  R. Khoury (Software Engineering),
  K. Liu (Mechanical Engineering),
  X.P. Liu (Electrical Engineering),
  H. Naser (Software Engineering),
  S. Pichardo (Adjunct, Electrical Engineering),
  A. Tayebi (Electrical Engineering),
  M.N. Uddin (Electrical Engineering),
  W. Wang (Mechanical Engineering)

The PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering satisfies the demand in academia and industry for highly qualified personnel in the field of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The program is directed to graduates from the existing Master's programs in Engineering at Lakehead University and outstanding graduates at the post graduate level from other universities.

The objective of the program is to foster students' scholarly skills and independent research abilities through a combination of formal course work and dissertation (research) work.

The areas of specialization in the proposed program are Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Software Engineering, and Mechatronics. The first three are well-established disciplines. The fourth, Mechatronics, is a new but increasingly important area that overlaps the three first disciplines and Mechanical Engineering.

The following Doctor of Philosophy in Engineering program offerings are available:
Each program is marked with a TB, O or W designation to distinguish where each program is available.
(TB = Thunder Bay campus, O = Orillia campus, W = online)

Doctor of Philosophy in Engineering (TB)