Search
Thunder Bay • Orillia

Academic Schedule of Dates (2020-2021)

All students, excluding the exceptions, follow these important dates:

Exception: Students in the following programs have an alternate schedule:
Education Professional Program
Professional Development in Education
Calendar of NOSM Events
Faculty of Natural Resources Management
Lakehead-Georgian Academic Schedule of Dates
MMS Program Calendar of Academic Events

Fall 2020 Term Courses

First Day of Classes Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Final Day of Classes Monday, December 7, 2020
Final Date to Register (Add) Monday, September 21, 2020
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Friday, November 6, 2020
Examination Period Thursday, December 10, 2020 - Sunday, December 20, 2020 (11 Days)
Exam Contingency Date Monday, December 21, 2020
Marks Due Thursday, December 24, 2020

Fall/Winter (Year Long) 2020/2021 Term Courses

Following a recommendation made by the Senate Academic Committee, Lakehead University’s Senate has decided to delay the first day of classes of the Winter 2021 term to Monday, January 11, 2021 and subsequently extend the term’s last day of classes to Tuesday, April 13, 2021 for all programs with two exceptions.

In order to fulfill their respective program’s requirements, the academic schedules for all Faculty of Law students and the Faculty of Education’s Professional Program years will remain unchanged with classes and placements resuming on January 4, 2021. All Faculty of Education’s Concurrent Education students will begin their term on January 11.

Following a recommendation made by the Senate Academic Committee, Lakehead University’s Senate has decided to delay the drop deadline of Fall/Winter (Year Long) courses and Winter 2021 term courses to Friday, March 19, 2021 for all programs with one exception (The Faculty of Law) and subsequently extend the term’s last day of classes to Thursday, April 15, 2021 for all programs with one exception (The Faculty of Law). The term's last day of classes for the Faculty of Law has been extended to Friday, April 9, 2021. The examination period for Fall/Winter (Year Long) courses and Winter 2021 term courses was also changed to Saturday, April 17, 2021 until Monday, April 26, 2021 with one exception (The Faculty of Law). Examinations for the Faculty of Law will take place from Friday, April 16, 2021 until Sunday, April 25, 2021.

First Day of Classes Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Final Day of Classes Tuesday, April 6, 2021  Tueday, April 13, 2021 Thursday, April 15, 2021
(April 12 make-up date for classes that did not take place on Easter Monday
April 13 make-up date for classes that did not take place on Good Friday
April 14 will follow the existing schedule of classes scheduled for Wednesdays
April 15 will follow the existing schedule of classes scheduled for Thursdays)
Note: Final day of classes for Faculty of Law is Tuesday, April 6, 2021 Friday, April 9, 2021
Final Date to Register (Add) Monday, September 21, 2020
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Friday, February 12, 2021 Monday February 22, 2021 Friday, March 19, 2021
Note: Final date to withdraw for Faculty of Law is Friday, March 5, 2021 Friday, March 12, 2021
Examination Period

Friday, April 9, 2021 - Sunday, April 18, 2021 (10 Days)
Friday April 16 - Sunday April 25, 2021 (10 days)
Saturday, April 17, 2021 - Monday, April 26, 2021 (10 Days)
Note: Exam period for Faculty of Law is Friday, April 16, 2021 - Sunday, April 25, 2021

Exam Contingency Date Monday, April 19, 2021 Monday, April 26, 2021
Note: Exam contigency date for the Faculty of Law is Monday, April 26, 2021
Marks Due Thursday, April 22, 2021 Thursday, April 29, 2021

Winter 2021 Term Courses

Following a recommendation made by the Senate Academic Committee, Lakehead University’s Senate has decided to delay the first day of classes of the Winter 2021 term to Monday, January 11, 2021 and subsequently extend the term’s last day of classes to Tuesday, April 13, 2021 for all programs with two exceptions.

In order to fulfill their respective program’s requirements, the academic schedules for all Faculty of Law students and the Faculty of Education’s Professional Program years will remain unchanged with classes and placements resuming on January 4, 2021. All Faculty of Education’s Concurrent Education students will begin their term on January 11.

Following a recommendation made by the Senate Academic Committee, Lakehead University’s Senate has decided to delay the drop deadline of Fall/Winter (Year Long) courses and Winter 2021 term courses to Friday, March 19, 2021 for all programs with one exception (The Faculty of Law) and subsequently extend the term’s last day of classes to Thursday, April 15, 2021 for all programs with one exception (The Faculty of Law). The term's last day of classes for the Faculty of Law has been extended to Friday, April 9, 2021. The examination period for Fall/Winter (Year Long) courses and Winter 2021 term courses was also changed to Saturday, April 17, 2021 until Monday, April 26, 2021 with one exception (The Faculty of Law). Examinations for the Faculty of Law will take place from Friday, April 16, 2021 until Sunday, April 25, 2021.

First Day of Classes Monday, January 4, 2021 Monday January, 11, 2021
Note: First day of classes for Faculty of Law and the Education
Professional Program is Monday, January 4, 2021
Final Day of Classes Tuesday, April 6, 2021 Tuesday, April 13, 2021 Thursday, April 15, 2021
(April 12 make-up date for classes that did not take place on Easter Monday
April 13 make-up date for classes that did not take place on Good Friday
April 14 will follow the existing schedule of classes scheduled for Wednesdays
April 15 will follow the existing schedule of classes scheduled for Thursdays)
Note: Final day of classes for Faculty of Law is Tuesday, April 6, 2021 Friday, April 9, 2021
Final Date to Register (Add) Friday, January 15, 2021 Friday, January 22, 2021
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Friday, March 5, 2021 Friday, March 12, 2021 Friday, March 19, 2021
Note: Final date to withdraw for Faculty of Law is Friday, March 5, 2021 Friday, March 12, 2021
Examination Period Friday, April 9, 2021 - Sunday, April 18, 2021 (10 Days)
Friday April 16, 2021 - Sunday April 25, 2021 (10 days)
Saturday, April 17, 2021 - Monday, April 26, 2021 (10 Days)
Note: Exam period for Faculty of Law is Friday, April 16, 2021 - Sunday, April 25, 2021
Exam Contingency Date Monday, April 19, 2021 Monday, April 26, 2021
Note: Exam contigency date for the Faculty of Law is Monday, April 26, 2021
Marks Due Thursday, April 22, 2021 Thursday, April 29, 2021

Spring 2021 First Term Courses (3 Weeks)

First Day of Classes Monday, May 3, 2021
Final Day of Classes Friday, May 21, 2021
Final Date to Register (Add) Wednesday, May 5, 2021
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Thursday, May 13, 2021
Examination Period Saturday, May 22, 2021
Exam Contingency Date Sunday, May 23, 2021
Marks Due Friday, May 28, 2021

Spring 2021 Full Term Courses (6 Weeks)

First Day of Classes Monday, May 3, 2021
Final Day of Classes Monday, June 14, 2021
Final Date to Register (Add) Wednesday, May 5, 2021
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Thursday, May 27, 2021
Examination Period Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Exam Contingency Date Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Marks Due Monday, June 21, 2021

Spring 2021 Second Term Courses (3 Weeks)

First Day of Classes Tuesday, May 25, 2021
Final Day of Classes Monday, June 14, 2021
Final Date to Register (Add) Thursday, May 27, 2021
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Friday, June 4, 2021
Examination Period Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Exam Contingency Date Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Marks Due Monday, June 21, 2021

Spring/Summer 2021 Full Term Courses (12 Weeks)

First Day of Classes Monday, May 3, 2021
Final Day of Classes Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Final Date to Register (Add) Wednesday, May 5, 2021
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Friday, June 11, 2021
Examination Period Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Exam Contingency Date Thursday, July 29, 2021
Marks Due Wednesday, August 4, 2021

Summer 2021 First Term Courses (3 Weeks)

First Day of Classes Friday, July 2, 2021
Final Day of Classes Friday, July 23, 2021
Final Date to Register (Add) Tuesday, July 6, 2021 
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Monday, July 12, 2021 
Examination Period Saturday, July 24, 2021 
Exam Contingency Date Sunday, July 29, 2021 
Marks Due Thursday, July 29, 2021

Summer 2021 Full Term Courses (6 Weeks)

First Day of Classes Friday, July 2, 2021
Final Day of Classes Friday, August 13, 2021 
Final Date to Register (Add) Tuesday, July 6, 2021
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Examination Period Saturday, August 13, 2021
Exam Contingency Date Sunday, August 14, 2021
Marks Due Thursday, August 19, 2021 

Summer 2021 Second Term Courses (3 Weeks)

First Day of Classes Monday, July 26, 2021
Final Day of Classes Monday, August 16, 2021 
Final Date to Register (Add) Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) Tuesday, August 3, 2021
Examination Period Tuesday, August 17, 2021
Exam Contingency Date Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Marks Due Monday, August 23, 2021 

Spring/Summer 2021 Graduate Studies Term

First Day May 1, 2021
Final Day August 31, 2021 
Final Date to Register (Add) May 15, 2021
Final Date to Withdraw (Drop) May 28, 2021
Marks Due September 1, 2021 

Special Examinations Schedule for 2020/2021

Final Date to Apply for a Fall Term Special Exam Wednesday, January 6, 2021
Special Examination Period for Fall Term Courses January 14, 15, 16, 2021 
Final Date to Apply for a Winter & Full Term Special Exam Friday, May 21, 2021 
Special Examination Period for Winter & Full Term Courses June 11, 12, 13, 2021 
Final Date to Apply for a Spring & Summer Term Special Exam Wednesday, August 25, 2021 
Special Examination Period for Spring & Summer Term Courses Saturday, August 28, 2021